top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureviana chau

the air travel sandwich: a hearty chunk of layover between two slices of flight

09.01.19 - 09.03.19

--

After being welcomed with a cheerful smile by one flight attendant and having my ticket checked by another with a severe bowl haircut, my board on the Qatar Airways aircraft was draped with a soothing classical number. I found my aisle seat and said hello to the woman at the window seat. Hopefully, the first 13-hour stretch of my flight to Doha, Qatar would serve me well before the eight-hour layover and then another five-hour flight to Kathmandu, Nepal.


Unfortunately, those 13 hours were not very enjoyable. The woman at the window seat had a bout of yell-yawns and uncovered coughs. The man behind me jarringly kicked at my seat and yanked down my seat every time he and/or the people on the inside seats got out (which was quite often). The baby across from me scream-cried throughout the whole flight while the mother laughed. But I managed to snatch a few sleeping hours.


I didn't step foot outside Doha International Airport, but I could feel the heat seeping in through the hallway that connected the plane door to the landing dock. I was pleasantly surprised at the appealing modern structures and designs in the airport, as well as the absence of frantic running and high decibels of chatter. I spent my eight-hour layover walking around, window shopping, reading, and napping. The flight to Tribhuvan International Airport was more comfortable, alleviated by my very kind Nepali seat partner.


Upon arrival at the airport, I had to apply for an entry visa into Nepal, but it was not without much difficulty. The first issue was where to begin. A woman ushered me towards the electronic booths to register your passport and duration details. Then, I waited in the heaping registration line for about half an hour before I reached the serviceman behind the window. But apparently my passport number could not be located in their system, and so I spent another two hours in the Immigration Office while the officials tried to sort it out. Ultimately, the mistake was that Qatar Airways misprinted my passport number, and Tribhuvan was able to override it.


I met the group at the drop-off/pickup area, and we took a van to Dhulikhel Village Resort, where we would spend the next four nights going through orientation and introductory Nepali language classes with our instructors.


I very much enjoy my program group--we get along well and we generate much laughter. I appreciate how accepting everyone is, and how friendly and funny they all are. We celebrated our last night at the inn with a dance party in the dining area, and were excitedly joined by other Nepali residents. I'm honestly really glad that I was able to have a good start to this trip.






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page