top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureviana chau

Darjeeling is a beautiful place

Updated: Sep 27, 2019

9.26.19

--

My view on Darjeeling has completely changed. Yesterday, after lunch, I walked ~40 minutes to the Japanese Peace Pagoda with a friend. According to Wikipedia, "Darjeeling Peace Pagoda is one of the Peace Pagodas designed to provide a focus for people of all races and creeds to help unite them in their search for world peace." It is such a beautiful area, despite the influxes of tourists. The Buddhist stupa is a bit different than the other Buddhist stupas that I have seen in Nepal; this one wasn't as massive, and there weren't many other sculptures or monuments surrounding the area. I quite like this, however. I enjoy the simplicity and the natural beauty and peacefulness that this pagoda emphasizes. Well-kept shrubbery and forestry surrounded the stupa, and the stairs and circular walkway were kept pristine from shoes, as there was a sign to take off your shoes before climbing up the stupa. Furthermore, there was a gentle stream of water at the bottom that produced the soothing sound of trickling water.


I faced opposite of the actual pagoda and instead sketched the trees near the railing and steps. It was a much-needed self-care opportunity, which I tend to neglect. However, several locals came up to me, stared at me, stared at my drawing, initiated some conversation, and asked to take selfies with me (and my drawing). It was a very strange experience--but apparently, locals just like to take photos of/with tourists and travelers who are not from that region because they don't often see people of different ethnicities. I can understand that, but I still felt a bit objectified. And I'm also wondering what they do with those photos. Do they just show them to their friends and family? Do they post them on their blogs?


But I digress. I think the Peace Pagoda was the highlight of my day. And at night, there is one street by the Market Mall that is decorated with lights and flanked by food stalls. Furthermore, the Darjeeling Fest was still going on, and I danced and cheered to the live band music in the crowd with my classmates. (This is the first year that Darjeeling Fest launched!) Despite the weather being so cold and me being consistently sick, Darjeeling really is flush with activity and excitement. I'm not sure if I would come back, but I did enjoy my time here. We'll be going to Ilam today after lunch, and I'm looking forward to comparing and contrasting that nation-state to Darjeeling.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page